Announcing the 2019 Experimental Non-Fiction Prize Longlist


Our prize readers have had the extremely difficult task of narrowing down the 198 entries we received this year for our Prize for Experimental Non-Fiction – but now the longlist is finally here and we’re super excited to share it with you all.

The shortlist will be published at the end of next month, and then the winner, decided by judges Timmah Ball, Chris Kraus and Quinn Eades, will be published in Issue #43 of our print magazine, out at the beginning of September. Five thousand dollarydoos go to the first prize winner, and two runners-up will also each receive $500.


This year’s longlist, in no particular order, is:

  • Warwick Newnham - ‘The Mash’

  • Katerina Bryant - ‘Where is my Mind?’

  • Catie Gorman - ‘The Boy’

  • Steph Jurusz - ‘Our Origin Story’

  • Sarah Vincent - ‘What Should I Call This?’

  • Ursula Robinson-Shaw - ‘Art Monstering’

  • Sophia Small - ‘How Long Can She Hold Her Breath’

  • Teri Hoskin - ‘To Nourishment’

  • Kathryn Hummel - ‘Jhor’

  • Tess Pearson - ‘What Sprouts at the Fissures’

  • Jean Bachoura - ‘TRETINOIN’

  • Oliver Reeson - ‘Body Language’

  • Carly Stone - ‘Big Think’

  • Soren Tae Smith - ‘Unexpected Inconveniences’

Congratulations to all those who made this longlist – it’s no small feat! And for anyone whose pieces didn’t quite make it, we sincerely thank you for entering, and please know the prize will be back for its sixth run next year.

This prize would not be possible without the ongoing support of the Copyright Agency and RMIT’s non/fictionLab, so huge thanks goes to everyone on those teams for helping to make all of this come together!